HEAD home

HEAD Executive Committee Meeting, January 2000



Minutes of the Executive Committee meeting of the High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society.

January, 12, 2000 -- Atlanta, Georgia


The executive committee meeting of the High Energy Astrophysics Division was held on January 12, 2000, at the Atlanta AAS meeting. Present were Gordon Garmire (chair), Neil Gehrels (former chair), Alice Harding (vice chair), Alan Marscher (secretary-treasurer), Christine Jones, Mitch Begelman, Alan Guth, Paul Hertz (incoming secretary-treasurer), Josh Grindlay (incoming vice-chair), Jules Halpern, Lynn Cominsky (press officer), and John Vallerga (meeting organizer).

John Vallerga led a discussion of the HEAD meeting to be held November 5--10 in Honolulu, Hawaii (in Waikiki) at the Ilikai Hotel. Attendees will need to be alerted that election day falls during the meeting, so they will need to vote via absentee ballot. It was decided that the meeting should start early each day (about 8:00) and extend only until mid-afternoon (about 2:30), with posters viewed afterward. This will allow late afternoon leisure activities. The cost of the hotel will be $110 per night, including tax. Abstracts will be due by August 8, with late abstracts accepted until August 27. The $30 abstract fee will be included in the registration fee. This will leave about two weeks for the executive committee to select the oral talks. The lengths of the invited and contributed talks will be decided by e-mail. Contributions of about $40K will be obtained from various sources to defray meeting costs.

The following HEAD meeting will be held jointly with the American Physical Society in April 2002 in Albuquerque, New Mexico. There was discussion of a possible interim meeting in November 2001 in order to present the expected flood of new high-energy satellite data. A meeting location in Europe or on an island in the Atlantic might be worthwhile to include European astronomers. This will be decided by e-mail after checking with the funding agencies to determine whether the meeting must be domestic to obtain funding.

The executive committee discussed and voted on the 2000 Rossi Prize. It will be awarded to Peter Meszaros, Bohdan Pacynski, and Martin Rees for their development of theoretical models of gamma-ray bursts and their afterglows.

The meeting was adjourned.

Submitted by Alan Marscher, Secretary-Treasurer, High Energy Astrophysics Division, American Astronomical Society.

summaries of meetings

calendar of meetings

newsletter archive

awards and prizes

information on membership

HEAD home
    Comments, questions, or feedback to Paul Hertz, Created February 18, 2000