HEAD home

HEAD Meetings



Minutes of the Executive Committee meeting of the High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society.

January 9, 2001 -- San Diego, California


The executive committee meeting of the High Energy Astrophysics Division was held on January 9, 2001, at the San Diego AAS meeting. Present were Alice Harding (chair), Josh Grindlay (vice-chair), Paul Hertz (secretary-treasurer), Mitch Begelman, Lars Bildsten, Jules Halpern, Christine Jones, Vicki Kaspi, Lynn Cominsky (press officer), and John Nousek (incoming member).

Alice Harding called the meeting to order. The results of the election were announced. 231 votes were cast by HEAD members for executive committee member. The candidates receiving the most votes, and therefore elected to a two year term (2001-2002) on the HEAD executive committee, were Nancy Brickhouse, Greg Madejski, and John Nousek. Alice thanked the nominating committee (Hale Bradt, Kevin Hurley, and Nick White) for putting forth such an outstanding slate of candidates. She also thanked the other candidates (Matthew Baring, Ron Remillard, and Kimberly Weaver) for standing for election.

Paul Hertz delivered the secretary-treasurer's report. HEAD membership has remained constant over the past year at approximately 700 members. HEAD assets have also remained constant over the past year. HEAD's income for 2000 was approximately $11,800 (dues $4300, meeting income $6000, investment income $1200, contributions $300) and HEAD's expenses for 2000 were approximately $10,900 (HEAD meeting $5400, prizes and expenses $4100, committee meetings $1100, other $300).

At the HEAD meeting, charges against HEAD's $6000 travel fund were $6876. There was discussion as to whether the overage was a Eureka mistake or a HEAD expense. The committee decided that the overage was a HEAD expense and that HEAD would repay Eureka Scientific the $876. The committee also discussed the fact that, although there will be meeting expenses in 2002 for the next HEAD meeting, there will be no income because the APS will be running the meeting and not Eureka Scientific. The committee also decided to continue using the AAS' engraver for Rossi prize certificates.

The executive committee discussed and voted on the 2001 Rossi Prize. It will be awarded to Andrew Fabian and Yasuo Tanaka in recognition of their discovery, with the ASCA satellite, of broad iron K-lines in active galactic nuclei, which demonstrate the effects of the strong gravitational field characteristic of black holes.

The next HEAD meetings were discussed. The next meeting will be jointly with the APS Division of Astrophysics in April 2002 in Albuquerque. It was decided that the meeting after that will be held in Spring 2003, and that Eureka Scientific will be asked to organize the meeting. The chair will ask John Vallerga to look into a ski resort as well as the warm weather locations already under consideration.

HEAD has been asked to sponsor an EUVE meeting in July. The chair will investigate what sponsorship entails.

The committee believes that the business of HEAD is international in scope and noted the high proportion of international attendees at the recent HEAD meeting. The committee asked the secretary-treasurer to investigate the pros and cons of allowing associate members, i.e., HEAD members who are not AAS members.

The meeting was adjourned.

These minutes submitted by Paul Hertz, Secretary-Treasurer, High Energy Astrophysics Division, American Astronomical Society.

summaries of meetings

calendar of meetings

newsletter archive

awards and prizes

information on membership

HEAD home
    Comments, questions, or feedback to headsec@aas.org, Updated January 11, 2001