For Immediate Release

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS TO THE DAVID N. SCHRAMM SCIENCE JOURNALISM AWARD

The High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society (HEAD/AAS) is soliciting nominations and submissions for the 16th <u>David N. Schramm Award</u>. The purpose of the Schramm Award is to recognize and stimulate distinguished writing on high-energy astrophysics.

Submissions must be received by Sunday, December 31, 2023. Only articles that have been published since the last Schramm Award (November 2021) are eligible for consideration. Articles can cover any aspect of high-energy astrophysics, including experimental and theoretical studies of high-energy photons and particles from the cosmos, covering the disciplines of X-ray, gamma-ray and cosmic-ray astronomy, as well as the study of gravitational waves.

All forms of science reporting -- including blog entries, online-only articles, and other multimedia -- will be considered. Each author may submit two separate pieces. Please note that only electronic submissions will be accepted. Therefore, if only hard copies of articles exist, please have them scanned into an easy-to-read format such as PDF. All submissions must be emailed to Megan Watzke (mwatzke@cfa.harvard.edu) by the deadline above.

The Schramm Award consists of a prize of \$1,500 and a plaque containing a citation given to the author of the article judged best by the committee. The publisher of the winning work will receive a certificate honoring the publication in which the work appeared.

The award is sponsored by HEAD/AAS, which will pay the winning author's personal travel expenses so that the award can be received in person at the next January 2025 AAS meeting.

A commitment to attend a future AAS or HEAD meeting is strongly urged for the winner of the Schramm Award. Note the HEAD does not charge registration fee for journalists who attend Divisional meetings.

The entries will be judged by a distinguished committee selected by the high-energy astrophysicists and science communication professionals. The results will be announced on February 1, 2024. The decision of this judging committee will be final.

<u>David Schramm</u> was a distinguished scientist who is widely regarded as the founder of the field of particle astrophysics, a discipline where cosmology and particle physics meet.

Contact:

Megan Watzke HEAD Press Officer Chandra X-ray Center +1 617-496-7998

mwatzke@cfa.harvard.edu