HIGH-ENERGY ASTROPHYSICS DIVISION ANNOUNCES 2023 AWARD WINNERS

The High-Energy Astrophysics Division (HEAD) of the American Astronomical Society has selected the winners for its top prizes for the upcoming year.

The 2023 Bruno Rossi Prize has been awarded to Anatoly Spitkovsky from Princeton University "for his pioneering numerical simulations of collisionless shocks, particle acceleration by shocks and magnetic reconnection, and pulsar magnetospheres and their electromagnetic radiation."

HEAD awards the Rossi Prize for a significant contribution to high-energy astrophysics, with particular emphasis on recent, original work. The prize is in honor of Professor Bruno Rossi, an authority on cosmic ray physics and a pioneer in the field of X-ray astronomy.

Meg Urry of Yale University has been selected for a new HEAD award, the 2023 Distinguished Career Prize. Her citation notes "her remarkable contributions to our understanding of a wide variety of topics in extragalactic high energy astrophysics, for establishing the unification paradigm of active galactic nuclei, her work on the origin of the extragalactic X-ray background, and for her tireless advocacy and support of women and underrepresented groups in science."

"It's an incredible honor to receive this inaugural award, which I share with the wonderful students and colleagues whose brilliant work built our understanding of AGN and galaxies," said Urry. "It's particularly special because I have seen the High Energy Astrophysics Division as my community since my very first scientific meeting, which was HEAD 1978 in La Jolla, California."

The 2023 Mid-Career Prize, which recognizes a significant advance or accomplishment (observational or theoretical) in high-energy astrophysics by an individual astrophysicist within fifteen years of receiving their PhD, has been awarded to Philip Fajardo Hopkins of the California Institute of Technology. His award's citation reads "for developing numerical methods and tools to advance our theoretical understanding of cosmic ray and astroparticle physics, the evolution of black holes and AGN, and dark matter physics."

"I am sincerely honored and flattered to receive this recognition. I have to thank my numerous mentors, colleagues, students and family who have provided so much support and allowed me to have these fantastic opportunities to do something I really love," said Fajardo Hopkins. "I am incredibly fortunate, and look forward to continuing to collaborate with so many brilliant and caring scientists."

Chiara Mingarelli of the University of Connecticut and the Flatiron Institute has been selected as this year's HEAD Early Career Prize winner "for her leadership in the analysis of pulsar timing array data and her contributions to our understanding of the stochastic gravitational wave background."

"I am deeply honored for this recognition of my research and contributions to the field of gravitational waves. I would like to sincerely thank my mentors and colleagues for their support

at this pivotal time in my career, as well as my group members for being my daily inspiration," said Mingarelli. "I look forward to continuing my work on pulsar timing arrays and to the overall advancement of our understanding of the universe."

The 2023 Innovation prize from HEAD goes to Gordon Garmire of Penn State University and Mark Bautz of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology "for their leadership in the conception, design, delivery, science analysis, and continued support of ACIS on the Chandra X-ray Observatory."

"It has been my enormous privilege to have worked with Gordon Garmire and so many other truly innovative people who contributed to ACIS," said Bautz. "I'm very honored and grateful to represent them in receiving this award recognizing their work."

More information about HEAD AAS, its prizes, and upcoming meetings can be found at http://head.aas.org/

Contact: Megan Watzke 617-496-7998 mwatzke@cfa.harvard.edu