You are here

The HEAD Early Career Prize


The HEAD Early Career Prize is awarded for a significant advance or accomplishment (observational or theoretical) in High Energy Astrophysics by an individual astrophysicist within 10 years of receiving their PhD. The prize is selected and administered by the AAS HEAD Executive Committee. The cited body of work should be published in a refereed journal.  Allowance will be made for time off due to circumstances including but not limited to family leave. The prize will amount to $1500 with corrections every 5 years for inflation. The winner will give an invited talk at the Divisional Meeting in the award year.  The HEAD covers up to $1500 of the awardee’s travel expenses  (transportation and lodging) to attend the meeting. 

The 2023 Early Career Prize Winner: Chiara Mingarelli

The 2023 HEAD Early-Career Prize is awarded to Dr. Chiara Mingarelli for her leadership in the analysis of pulsar timing array data and her contributions to our understanding of the stochastic gravitational wave background. Please see the HEAD Press Release for more information.

The List of Awardees

The Nomination Process

Those who have received their degree within 10 years prior to the HEAD meeting date are eligible for the prize. The due date for nomination materials to be submitted to the HEAD Secretary will be approximately six months before the HEAD division meeting. Materials should be submitted via email to the HEAD Secretary at A nomination should include:

  • A cover letter
  • The nomination statement listing the specific paper(s) for consideration, with publication dates and other bibliographic information.  The statement should specifically address the relevance of this work to high energy astrophysics. For paper(s) with multiple authors, the nomination statement should describe the nominee's specific contributions to the work.
  • The date of the nominee's PhD

Self nominations are allowed.

Please note that nominations are not held over; nominations need to be re-submitted  for consideration in the next award cycle, 


The current deadline for nominations is October 15, 2023.