You are here

Winners of the HEAD Innovation Prize

 2023 Gordon Garmire & Mark Bautz

Dr. Gordon Garmire and Dr. Mark Bautz have been awarded the 2023 HEAD Innovation Prize for their leadership in the conception, design, delivery, science analysis, and continued support of the Advanced CCD Imaging Spectrometer (ACIS) on the Chandra X-ray Observatory.

 2022 Keith Arnaud

Dr. Keith Arnaud has been awarded the 2022 HEAD Innovation Prize for continuous innovation in developing and maintaining XSPEC, the X-ray spectral fitting package, which has become the world standard for analysis of spectra from X-ray and Gamma-ray missions".   Please see the HEAD Press Release for more information.

 2021 Richard Kelley

Dr. Richard Kelley has been awarded the 2021 HEAD Innovation Prize "for his unflagging effort to make the transformational capabilities of the X-ray microcalorimeter available to the high energy astrophysics community".  Please see the HEAD press release for more information.