You are here

Bruno Rossi prize

The Deadline for nominations for the 2020 Bruno Rossi Prize is October 15, 2019 November 1, 2019

The Bruno Rossi Prize

The Bruno Rossi Prize is awarded annually in honor of Bruno Rossi "for a significant contribution to High Energy Astrophysics, with particular emphasis on recent, original work."

The prize includes a cash award, a citation, and an invited lecture by the recipient at a meeting of the Division. This is usually a plenary talk given at the winter meeting of the AAS. 

2019 Prize Winner: The 2019 Bruno Rossi Prize has been awarded to Brian Metzger and Daniel Kasen, "for their theoretical predictions of electromagnetic emission from radioactive nuclei produced in neutron star mergers. These predictions were confirmed by observations of the 2017 neutron star merger gravitational wave event, providing the first compelling evidence for the astrophysical site of rapid neutron capture nucleosynthesis."  Please see the HEAD Press Release for more information.

Citations of previous Rossi prize winners

Nomination Process

A nomination for the prize may be made by any member of the Division.  Selection of the prize recipient will be made by the full Executive Committee of the Division. Nomination of individuals (rather than teams) is encouraged.

Nomination Package

A complete Rossi prize nomination consists of the following items: 

  1. A Nominee Qualification letter evaluating the qualifications of the nominee/s and including a suggested citation.
  2. An abbreviated curriculum vitae (CV) for the nominee/s (please, no more than 5 pages).
  3. A publication list of important publications. Please include links for one or two with key relevance for the nomination.
  4. Up to three supporting letters may be submitted. These are optional and not restricted to members.

Submission of the Nomination Package

Nominations are to be submitted via the AAS Prize Nomination Portal.

HEAD members who are AAS members should enter their AAS credentials (either the username or e-mail address and password used to log into the member section of and click the "Login with AAS" button. HEAD members who are not members of the AAS should create an individual account to log in.

Nomination Period

Prize nominations generally remain valid for a period of three years, including the original year in which the candidate was nominated. For example, a person nominated in 2018 is eligible for the 2019, 2020, and 2021 Prize.


Selection of the prize recipient will be made by the full, unconflicted, membership of the Executive Committee of the Division.