You are here

Winners of the HEAD Mid-Career Prize

2022 Brad Cenko

The 2022 HEAD Mid-Career Prize is awarded to Dr. Brad Cenko "for outstanding leadership, discovery and characterization of high-energy transient phenomena from tidal disruption events, counterparts to gravitational wave mergers, and gamma ray bursts." Please see the HEAD Press Release for more information. Please see the HEAD Press Release for more information.

2021 Anna Watts

The 2021 HEAD Mid-Career Prize is awarded to Dr. Anna Watts "for her trailblazing work in the understanding of neutronstar fluid dynamics, and developing and applying rigorous inference to obtain observational constraints on dense matter".  Please see the HEAD press release for more information.

2019 Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz

The 2019 HEAD Mid-Career Prize is awarded to Dr. Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz "for his key contributions to our physical understanding of transient phenomena involving compact objects". Please see the press release for more information

2017 Jon Miller

The 2017 HEAD Mid-Career Prize is awarded to Dr. Jon Miller for his seminal high resolution X-ray observations of accreting black hole systems. His work has fundamentally advanced our understanding of accretion disk winds and the dynamics of the infalling material produced by the tidal disruption of a star by a black hole.

2016 Sebastian Heinz

The 2016 HEAD Mid-Career prize was awarded to Professor Sebastian Heinz for unveiling the nature of the X-ray binary system Circinus X-1, which showed that the birth fields of neutron stars span a much larger range than previously thought, and for establishing the use of X-ray light echoes to make accurate measurements of Galactic distance.