You are here

The David N. Schramm Award for High Energy Astrophysics Science Journalism

The 2022 David N. Schramm Award Winner: Camille Carlisle

The 2022 David N. Schramm Award for high-energy astrophysics science journalism has been awarded to Camille Carlisle for her article entitled "Gravitational Wave Detectors Find Mystery 'Mass Gap' Object", which appeared in Sky & Telescope on June 25, 2020. The award was announced via press release on May 17, 2022.

List of past winners

The David N. Schramm High-Energy Astrophysics Science Journalism Award was created by the High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society (HEAD/AAS) to recognize and stimulate distinguished writing on high-energy astrophysics. The prize was established to improve the general public’s understanding of this exciting field of research.

The prize is awarded at every meeting of the High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society.

The entries are judged by a committee of distinguished scientists and journalists selected by the Executive Committee of the High Energy Astrophysics Division. The decisions of the judging committee are final.

The winning author (or authors) will receive a prize of $1,500, and a plaque containing a citation. HEAD/AAS will pay the winning author’s personal and travel expenses so that the award can be received in person at the division’s meeting. The acceptance of the award implies a commitment of the winner(s) to come to receive the award in person. The publisher of the winning work will receive a certificate honoring the publication in which the work appeared.

Articles for this award must cover topics in high-energy astrophysics, which incorporate experimental and theoretical studies of high-energy photons and particles from the cosmos, including the disciplines of X-ray, gamma-ray, and cosmic-ray astronomy, as well as the study of gravitational waves. All forms of science reporting—including blog entries, online-only articles, and other multimedia—will be considered. Each author may submit two separate pieces. Only electronic submissions will be accepted. Therefore, if only hard copies of articles exist, they must be scanned into an easy-to-read format such as pdf.

Please send submissions in either pdf or Word format. Submissions should be e-mailed to the HEAD Press Officer

The current deadline for nominations for the 2024 Schramm Prize is December 31, 2023.

Please see the Call for Nominations for more details

Rules for the David N. Schramm Award