You are here

HEAD History Items


  • NASA has selected the Imaging X-ray Polarimetry Explorer (IXPE) mission as the latest Explorer mission. IXPE will fly three space telescopes with cameras capable of measuring the polarization of these cosmic X-rays. Dr. Martin Weisskopf of NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center will lead the mission as Principal Investigator, while Ball Aerospace in Broomfield, Colorado will provide the spacecraft and mission integration, and the Italian Space Agency will contribute the polarization sensitive X-ray detectors. Congratulations to Dr. Weisskopf and the entire IXPE team.
  • Dr. Gabriela González and the LIGO Scientific Collaboration have been awarded the 2017 Bruno Rossi Prize "for the first direct detections of gravitational waves, for the discovery of merging black hole binaries, and for beginning the new era of gravitational-wave astronomy." Please see the press release for more information.
  • Dr. Victoria Kaspi (McGill) was appointed to the Order of Canada. The Order of Canada was created in 1967 and is one of  Canada's highest civilian honors and recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.
  • Dr. Gabriela González (LSU) was named one of Nature's 10, "Ten people who mattered this year".
  • Neil Cornish (Montana State) and Kristin Madsen (Caltech) are the new HEAD executive committee members, replacing Daniel Wang and Mark Bautz, whose terms are ending. We'd like to thank both Daniel and Mark for their valued service to the HEA community as executive committee members over the past three years, and welcome Kristin and Neil.